Behaviroral_Sciences.jpg

Dakota Wesleyan University

Academic Calendar

Prepare for your academic journey with these important dates.

16-Week Academic Calendar

Spring 2024
  • Monday, Jan. 8 – Classes begin at 8 a.m.
  • Friday, Jan. 12 – Last Day for Restricted-Adviser Only-Add/Drop
  • Monday, Jan. 15 – Martin Luther King Jr. Day, No Classes, Offices Closed
  • Friday, Jan. 19 – Last Day for Restricted-Adviser and Instructor-Add/Drop
  • Friday, Jan. 26 – Fall Incomplete Grades Due
  • Friday, March 1 – Midterm Grades Due
  • Friday, March 1 – Spring Break Begins at 10 p.m.
  • Monday, March 11 – Classes Resume at 8 a.m.
  • Monday, March 18 – Registration for Fall Semesters Begins
  • Friday, March 29 – Good Friday, No Classes, Offices Closed
  • Monday, April 1 – Easter Monday, No Classes, Offices Open
  • Tuesday, April 2 – December Graduation Applications Due
  • Friday, April 12 – Last Day for Withdraw
  • Wednesday, April 17 – Capstone Day
  • Monday-Friday, April 22-April 26 – Evening Final Exams
  • Friday, April 26 – Honors Banquet
  • Monday, April 29 – Last Day of Classes before Day Final Exams
  • Tuesday, April 30 – Day of Caring, No Classes
  • Wednesday-Friday, May 1-3 – Day Final Exams
  • Sunday, May 5 – Baccalaureate and Commencement
  • Tuesday, May 7 – Grades Due
Spring 2024 Finals

Wednesday, May 1

  • 8-10 a.m. – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 9 a.m.
  • 10 a.m.-noon – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 11 a.m.
  • 1-3 p.m. – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 1 p.m.
  • 3-5 p.m. – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 2 p.m. 

Thursday, May 2

  • 8-10 a.m. – Classes scheduled Tuesday and/or Thursday between 8 a.m. and 8:30 a.m.
  • 10 a.m.-noon – Classes scheduled Tuesday and/or Thursday between 9:30 a.m. and noon.
  • 1-3 p.m. – Classes scheduled Tuesday and/or Thursday that begin at noon or 12:30 p.m.
  • 3-5 p.m. – Classes scheduled Tuesday and/or Thursday that begin at 1 p.m. or 2 p.m.

Friday, May 3

  • 8-10 a.m. – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 8 a.m.
  • 10 a.m.-noon – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 10 a.m.
  • 1-3 p.m. – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at noon.
  • 3-5 p.m. – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 3 p.m.

Evening Finals

  •  Monday-Friday, April 22-26
Summer 2024
  • Monday, May 6 - Friday, June 1 – Session I
  • Monday, May 27 – Memorial Day, No Classes, Offices Closed
  • Friday, June 14 – Spring Incomplete Grades Due
  • Monday, June 24 – Friday, Aug. 9 – Session II
  • Thursday, July 4 – Independence Day, No Classes, Offices Closed
Fall 2024
  • Friday-Sunday, Aug. 23-25 – New Student Orientation 
  • Monday, Aug. 26 – Classes Begin at 8 a.m. 
  • Thursday, Aug. 29 – Opening Convocation 
  • Friday, Aug. 30 – Last Day for Restricted-Adviser Signature Only-Add/Drop 
  • Monday, Sept. 2 – Labor Day, No Classes, Offices Closed 
  • Friday, Sept. 6 – Last Day for Restricted-Adviser and Instructor-Add/Drop   
  • Friday, Sept. 20 – Summer Incomplete Grades Due 
  • Saturday, Oct. 12 – Blue & White Days 
  • Monday, Oct. 14 –  Indigenous People’s Day, No Classes, Offices Open                         
  • Friday, Oct. 18 – Midterm Grades Due 
  • Monday, Oct. 21 – Registration for Spring and Summer Semesters Begins 
  • Friday, Nov. 22 – May, June & August Graduation Applications Due
  • Friday, Nov. 22 – Last Day for Withdraw  
  • Monday-Friday, Nov. 25-29 – Thanksgiving Break 
  • Wednesday-Friday, Nov. 27-29 – Thanksgiving, Offices Closed 
  • Monday, Dec. 2 – Classes Resume at 8 a.m. 
  • Monday-Friday, Dec. 9-13 – Evening Finals 
  • Friday, Dec. 13 – Last Day of Classes before Day Final Exams 
  • Monday-Wednesday, Dec. 16-18 – Day Classes Finals 
  • Saturday, Dec. 21 – Grades Due 
  • Monday, Dec. 23-Wednesday, Jan. 1 – Christmas and New Year Holidays, Offices Closed 
Fall 2024 Finals

Monday, December 16

  • 8-10 a.m. – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 8 a.m. 
  • 10 a.m.-noon – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 10 a.m. 
  • 1-3 p.m. – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 1 p.m. 
  • 3-5 p.m. – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 2 p.m. 

Tuesday, December 17

  • 8-10 a.m. – Classes scheduled Tuesday and/or Thursday between 8 a.m. and 8:30 a.m. 
  • 10 a.m.-noon – Classes scheduled Tuesday and/or Thursday between at 9:30 a.m and noon. 
  • 1-3 p.m. – Classes scheduled Tuesday and/or Thursday that begin at noon or 12:30 p.m. 
  • 3-5 p.m. – Classes scheduled Tuesday and/or Thursday that begin at 1 p.m. or 2 p.m. 

Wednesday, December 18

  • 8-10 a.m. – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 9 a.m. 
  • 10 a.m.-noon – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 11 a.m. 
  • 1-3 p.m. – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at noon. 
  • 3-5 p.m. – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 3 p.m. 

Evening Finals

  • Monday-Friday, December 9-13 

*7-Week, Online and Sioux Falls Campus – refer to the course syllabus 

Graduate & Online, 7-Week Academic Calendar

Spring 2024
  • Monday, Jan. 8 – Session I classes begin
  • Friday, Jan. 12 – Last day for drop/add
  • Monday, Jan. 20 – Martin Luther King Jr. Day holiday
  • Friday, Feb. 2 – Last day for withdrawal
  • Wednesday, Feb. 28 – Session I classes end
  • Friday, March 1– Final exam/submissions due
  • Monday, March 4 – Final grades due
  • Monday, March 11 – Session II classes begin
  • Friday, March 15 – Last day for drop/add
  • Friday, March 29 – Good Friday holiday
  • Monday, April 1 – Easter Monday holiday
  • Friday, April 5 – Last day for withdrawal
  • Monday, April 29 – Session II classes end
  • Friday, May 3 – Final exam/submissions due
  • Monday, May 6 – Final grades due
Summer 2024
  • Monday, May 6 – Session I classes begin
  • Friday, May 10 – Last day for drop/add
  • Monday, May 27 – Memorial Day holiday
  • Friday, May 31 – Last day for withdrawal
  • Friday, June 21 – Session I classes end
  • Wednesday, June 26 – Final exam/submissions due
  • Friday, June 28 – Final grades due
  • Monday, June 24 – Session II classes begin
  • Friday, June 28 – Last day for drop/add
  • Thursday, July 4 – Independence Day holiday
  • Friday, July 19 – Last day for withdrawal
  • Friday, Aug. 9 – Session II classes end
  • Wednesday, Aug. 14 – Final exam/submissions due
  • Friday, Aug. 16 – Final grades due
Fall 2024
  • Monday, Aug. 26 – Session I classes begin
  • Friday, Aug. 30 – Last day for drop/add
  • Monday, Sept. 2 – Labor Day holiday
  • Friday, Sept. 20 – Last day for withdrawal
  • Wednesday, Oct. 16 – Session I classes end
  • Friday, Oct. 18 – Final exam/submissions due
  • Monday, Oct. 21 – Final grades due
  • Monday, Oct. 21 – Session II classes begin
  • Friday, Oct. 25 – Last day for drop/add
  • Friday, Nov. 15 – Last day for withdrawal
  • Monday-Friday, Nov. 25-29 – Thanksgiving holiday
  • Friday, Dec. 13 – Session II classes end
  • Monday-Wednesday, Dec. 16-18 – Final exam/submissions due
  • Friday, Dec. 20 – Final grades due

Dakota Wesleyan University academic calendars are subject to change due to forces beyond the university's control or as deemed necessary by the university in order to fulfill its educational objectives.

Courses that do not begin and end within the normal session time frame, status dates will be adjusted accordingly. 

As a student, you must attend your on-campus course by the third day or your registration will be cancelled, unless the instructor gives permission otherwise. For online courses, you must log in to the course by the end of third day.

faculty-staff-directory.jpg

Questions?

Please call for assistance with the following:

Registration (enrolling in a class, drop/add, withdrawal) – 605-995-2642 
Billing - 605-995-2693 
Financial Aid - 605-995-2656